From QCWA Headquarters

QCWA Bulletin 2012 - 002 - Leland "Buddy" Smith, W4YE Receives John DiBlasi Award

In early December the QCWA Board of Directors voted unanimously to award
Leland "Buddy" Smith, W4YE, the John DiBlasi Award, for his tireless work
while Chair of the QCWA Scholarship Progam.

QCWA wishes to congratulate Buddy on receiving this coveted Award while
serving as Scholarship Chair for the past ten years. 

When Croft Taylor, VE3CT, (SK) was QCWA President, he had asked Buddy to
take over from Jim Walsh, W7LVN (SK). Buddy's father Leland Smith Sr., W5KL,
also worked with the Scholarship Program for many years.  

Buddy will be personally presented with his award at an upcoming Hamfest
or QCWA Chapter meeting.

The John DiBlasi Award may be awarded to any QCWA member who has over a
long period of time made an outstanding contribution to the honor and
preservation of our Association.  The John DiBlasi Award was established
April 15, 1984, in honor of our first president, John DiBlasi, W2FX, who
served from 1947 to 1964.

Ken Oelke, VE6AFO
QCWA President